Spice Up Your Life

I think it is safe to say that I am not the only one who is rekindling their former love affair with the Spice Girls.  Anyway, they all looked so amazing during the closing ceremonies of the Olympics.  I think they looked just as fun as they used to but in a mature way. 

2012

spice

via

circa 1997

spice2

via

I’ve heard people didn’t like their performance, or didn’t like their clothes or something.  I think their outfits matched their personas from before, but in a slightly classier, grown up way.  And they all looked beautiful.  They looked older, but not in a bad way.  They didn’t look trashy or washed up.  I really enjoyed it. 

My favorite was always Geri “Ginger Spice” Halliwell.  As a kid I always wanted to be a redhead, I’m not really sure why.  She always seemed like she had so much fun and personality. 

Anyway, my sister told me on Saturday that they were performing at the closing ceremony, and I was really excited, because, I went bowling on Friday night.  I was TERRIBLE (I’ve never been good, but I felt like I was doing even more awful) and then the bowling alley started playing a Spice Girls medley.  And I drastically improved.  I was winning the first 5 or 6 frames of the game.  I did end up losing, in the end, but I’d like to think these ladies helped me out:

spice3

via

And on that note,  I will be taking full advantage of the “Spice World” DVD that will be coming thanks to Netflix.  If you’ve never seen it, you probably should, because I love this song and this scene from the movie:

Finally, even though I think people thought they were super skinny, they were actually average sized.  They were actually pretty decent role models for girls, even if some of their music was questionable for younger girls (“2 Become 1” perhaps?). 

“Colors of the world, spice up your life.  Every boy and every girl, spice up your life.  People of the world, spice up your life.”

Leave a Reply

