Triceps and Tendon Tuesday

I need to start posting on the regular again.  Maybe I never really have?  I feel like I should though, because what is the point of this blog if I am not posting regularly, right?  Right (agree with me, it is better that way). 

So, I’m going to try and come up with at least one to two of my own themed days (aside from Monday’s Weekend Update Blog Hop and Friday’s Letters and/or Confessional). 

Since I normally do the blog hop on Monday, I need something for Tuesday.  I think I will be rotating it, but I’m calling today, “Triceps and Tendon Tuesday.”  What will I be talking about today you ask?  Muscles. 

If you’ve been reading my blog with any regularity, not to be confused with your irregularity (inappropriate, I apologize, I found it funny – kind of like the time I made a joke about the butcher, the baker, and the candle stick maker.  Moving on).  You’ll know that I’ve lost a considerate amount of weight, run like a bat out of hell for fun, and live tractor tires above my head, because I can.  True, kind of true, and a lie, but you get the point.  My absolute favorite muscles to train are:  BACK and TRICEPS. 

Disclaimer:  I am not a physician or a personal trainer.  I am simply explaining my personal favorites, and why.  Please consult your physician before attempting any of these exercises.

BACK

back

(via)

This is a very simple depiction of your back muscles.  Your back is a very large muscle group.  I love working my back.  I sit at a desk all day and I think that it helps with the potential strain that I might get if my back muscles weren’t as strong.  It makes your posture better, so you’ll stand taller.  If you’re standing taller, your midsection will more than likely appear less slouched.  Win, win if you ask me. 

Favorite moves:

One Arm Row

This move makes me feel strong, and I feel it through my middle back so much more than your typical seated row.  It also works your biceps as well, so its kind of a 2 for 1 deal. 

Wide Grip Lat Pull Down

I’m not sure why I like this one, I’ve just always been drawn to it.

Deadlift

Try doing a deadlift.  Watch yourself in the mirror.  Pat yourself on the back because you look like a machine.  Smile, but not too sweetly. 

TRICEPS

Your triceps are on the backside/underside of your arm.  I never realized I had developed triceps muscles until I asked someone what muscle the curve I had created was, and that’s the response I received.  Your triceps has different parts, but as a whole it is not as large as your back. 

tricpes

(via)

Favorite moves:

Skullcrusher

This move is tough, but oh can you feel it.  It will wear out your triceps, but it is so worth the fatigue.  I hate it so much that it might be my favorite of all. 

Pushdown

I love this move because it allows for so many variations with the bar/rope you use, or the way you face the pulley, or the way you place your hands.  With one quick switch you can work a different part of the muscle.  I highly recommend. 

Dips

I do an assisted dip, but sometimes I do them on a bench unassisted.  These can really be done anywhere and don’t require a gym. 

I am no fitness expert, but I’ve read a lot on fitness related things and these are just some of my favorites and why.  If you have any favorites let me know, I’d love to know! 

Leave a Reply

