Thanksgiving

I drove to my parents for Thanksgiving.  I got off early on Wednesday, tried to take a nap and was on the road by 8 pm with el chico.  We drove, hit minimal traffic, he slept some, I slept some and I arrived at my parents’ house (after dropping him off) at the reasonable hour of 5:45 AM.  I slept for about 4 hours before waking up for our meal.

(Enjoy these photos, my aunt likes to do photo shoots.  We also have a running joke about pictures of us by ourselves being our “obituary” photos.  I have one now too, awesome). 

normal4

Typical of my mom and sister, usually my dad joins in on the shenanigans. 

My family came over and I ate all my faves:  green bean casserole, stuffing, sweet potato casserole, mashed potatoes, and turkey.  But emphasis on the casseroles, yum! 

mendani

I’m calling this the, “my sister just told me she is getting married in March face.”

Dessert was good, my dad’s friend made his pineapple upside down cake.  Heaven, trust me.  I wish I had eaten more pumpkin pie that my mom made.  It was good.  And the other two pies, only so-so.  A waste of my plate if you ask me. 

weirdos

Apparently we make these faces a lot.  Typical, I suppose. 

My mom, sister, aunt, cousin, and I went out Black “Friday” shopping on Thursday night.  Sears was a bust, Target was a winner and a must, Old Navy was just plain irritating.

normal5

For some reason this photo could have been much better, we are sitting on a bench made for 1.5 people. 

We made it home by 2:45 AM (another late night in a row!)  Hopped into bed and were up again to be out there by 8 AM to hit up the mall. 

normal2

This is the only photo where most of us look normal.  I’m not sure what my mom and sister are doing.  Ricky and my dad look quite nice. 

I scored some deals at Macy’s and JC Penney.  Finally some clothes that fit.  I met up with my friends that afternoon and took a long nap in the evening. 

dillon

This is Dillon, my aunt and uncle’s dog.  He’s so cute. 

Saturday afternoon we did some dress shopping with my sister.  Found some winners, some losers, and watched a girl “Say Yes to the Dress.” 

normal3

What am I not looking at?

On Saturday night we went to the Kings game. It was a lot of fun, and I forgot how much I enjoy basketball, but it was also embarrassing at how few people were there.

Sunday we drove back and made it home by 9, which was good timing.  Although, I always need an extra day off after vacation.  I’m finally unpacked, and thankful I could see my family.  I hope you had a great Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

