Mystery

As always, I fail at blogging.  I do, however, have some stories for you this time around.  Or a story, I suppose. 

I take public transportation.  It’s cheap, convenient, and less gas money spent in my car.  I can read the whole way to work and the whole way home, I’ve gotten pretty used to and comfortable with it.  Plus, I do sometimes fall asleep, so I get a nap in.  There are all types of different people who use the system.  You never know who will get on, but there are also the regulars.  So, on my way home I encountered the usuals and some newbies, it happens.  However, today was a completely different experience. 

I was minding my own business playing on my phone and listening to my iPod (I left my book at work).  I look up, maybe 5 or 6 stops after I got on, after this guy who could have been autistic or something got off.  He didn’t bother anyone, just wanted to talk about nothing to whoever would listen.  I then see blood on the floor and on one of the hand rails.  No problem, I’m sitting down and have no interest in standing.  I look around to see if I can find anyone who is injured or might be bleeding.  Nothing.  I continue on my way.  Then, I hear this crazy guy talking about the blood.  Now, let me tell you, I have seen my fair share of crazies.  I’ve been forced/cornered into a hug by a homeless man at the station (I hated hugs prior to this and this moment of my life did not help).  A woman has taught me how to steal things with the sensors on them as she proceeded to pick up her baby’s pacifier from the dirty floor, put it in her mouth to “clean” it and then put it back in the kid’s mouth.  This guy was quite a winner, but maybe not quite as crazy as the woman I saw urinate and vomit on the steps. 

He kept talking about the US District Court being corrupt.  Okay, it happens, some people hate the court system, and in some instances they might be right.  I doubt he was, but whatever, he wasn’t really bothering anyone, just kind of annoying.  Then he started saying how blacks were being terrorized.  Okay, he was black and although I’m not sure what he meant, he can have his opinion.  Then he would point out the blood and was asking people for a knife.  I was getting nervous, but I get off at a location with other people and I figured as long as they stayed on, I would be okay.  Then, he gets really crazy.  He starts talking about the MTS police and their “laser/Taser/fasers” that murder you while they are talking to you because it is invisible.  He keeps repeating this.  And explaining that they also have sex with child prostitutes while in front of the cameras and never get caught.  An imagination this one had.  He then talks about how it smells like nicotine (it has a smell? or did he mean cigarettes) and alcohol and all that stuff.  Weird. 

I finally got off, so there’s the bloody guy and the crazy.  I was telling my sister how gross it was that people weren’t paying attention to the blood and were touching it.  I went straight to the gym, washed my hands as I always do when I get off the trolley and started my workout.  I dropped my gym towel onto my shoes and told my sister, what if I stepped in blood?  Turns out the mystery bleeder did bleed on my shoe.  By process of elimination, and then recalling the used band aid on the ground, the mystery bleeder was the autistic guy sitting behind me. I  then proceeded to freak out that what if it was in my hair, or I had a cut and this guy had HIV/AIDS or who knows what else. 

I tried not to let it interfere with my workout, but I could not wait to get home to shower.  A shower never felt so good.  I think I’m in the clear with the blood, but it still might be one of the most disgusting things I’ve experienced. 

Leave a Reply

