Since I’m a Grown Up…

This is a list of things that I’ve learned about myself since I’ve become a grown up.  Or the changes about me that my mom would deny could be true.

1.  I’ve become a neat freak and have started to dislike clutter.  If you knew me as a child and a teen, and even when I first lived on my own, you would know that this is a crazy phenomenon.   At this current moment I can see that the dish rag in the kitchen has fallen off it’s hook and I kind of want to stop typing (which I originally typed as “styping” new word blogger style) and go fix it.  I won’t, but I kind of want to.

2.  I don’t like watching TV (when I moved I canceled my cable TV and only have a TV in my living room no more bedroom TV) but crave background noise, cue: Pandora all the time – currently: Country Christmas, of course.

3.  I don’t actually suck at cooking, I just don’t really enjoy it that much.  And those are two COMPLETELY different things.  Since I don’t enjoy it, I don’t take the time to get good at it, and therefore I find that I’m lacking in that area.  However, I love to eggs and I have gotten pretty phenomenal at making any kind of egg.  (I’m experimenting with sweet potatoes at the moment, so we will see how it goes, crossing my fingers).

4.  I thought I wanted an office desk job, but that is not correct.  I do not enjoy it.  I’d rather do ANYTHING else.  So, since my mom informed me I have an unused scholarship that I need to take advantage of before I turn 30, I may just be getting my teaching credential…

5.  This isn’t really on being a grown up, this is me moving out of my comfort zone, but I am actively trying to be more affectionate.  I will be doling out hugs, for at least 6 seconds, because I read somewhere that’s what you need to do?  Anyway, I’m working on it, give me some time.

6.  Learning to accept myself as I am, my flaws, quirks, and all.  It takes time, and I think, although I could be wrong (but I’m never wrong, except that one time last week when I was wrong, but I’m still willing to bet I could be considered correct), with being female it is that much more difficult.  I’m almost there, and that’s a good thing.

7.  “Those who mind don’t matter, and those that matter don’t mind.” – Bernard Baruch.  So true, and it relates to #6.

8.  Just be nice.  Smile.  Be happy.  Laugh.  Live.  Love.  Enjoy the small things.  Sit outside.  Run.

Leave a Reply

