Happy 2013

I’m not going to make the resolution that this blog will become more of a priority.  As much as I would like it to, I will never be an everyday poster.  As much as I would like to be one, and as much credit as I give others who are able to, it will never work for me.  With that being said, I found this list on HuffingtonPost and thought it would be a great way to start my new year. 

“Get a Jump on January: 10 Steps to Your Best Year Yet”

I’ll go in order and hopefully get all 10 posts in January (I’m going to really try, I promise, pinky promise). 

1.  Be Grateful

You can read what Jamie has on the above link, but I need to be more grateful.  Some times I take for granted the positive things in my life when the negative becomes overwhelming.  I want to take the time to let the people in my life who I am grateful for, know it. 

I need to be grateful for my health.  I go run 5 miles and take for granted that I can.  I’ve been pretty injury free in my workout and running endeavors, and I am ever so thankful for that.  I can’t imagine being sidelined for an extended period of time with an injury or illness.

photo1

(After my last run of 2012 – 5 miles)

I need to be grateful for the health of my family.  I am so lucky to have not really been hit by cancer or anything in my close family. 

funnyfamily

As much as I might complain about my job and having to work, I am grateful that it allows me to have a roof over my head and food in my stomach.  It might barely let me make ends meet, but I’m not really struggling, like some.  It is just me after all.

photo

(I made this for dinner tonight/last night depending when this post goes live: baked chicken, roasted sweet potato and broccoli)

I hope my parents and my sister and the rest of my family know how grateful I am for them and all they do for me. 

normal2

I am so grateful that I’ve found someone who treats me with respect, enjoys my company, always makes me laugh and smile, and makes me feel happy all the time.  It is amazing. 

What are you grateful for?  How do you show your gratitude to the ones you love? 

I hope your 2013 has an amazing start and continues to be awesome. 

As Ellie Goulding would say, “Anything could happen.” 

Leave a Reply

