Go Me

#2 on my list from the link I posted yesterday:

Give yourself some credit.

I’m not sure how good or bad I am at this one.  I’m a girl, and I think sometimes those fun lady hormones floating around mess with this.  I have been known in the past to be somewhat cocky and condescending, which is giving myself some credit in a negative way.  And yes, when I was entering the realm of online dating, I really wanted to respond to men who only messaged me to tell me that I was pretty with, “yes, I know, thanks.”  I, however, never did. 

001

I need to give myself more credit for all I’ve accomplished, in the past year and what I hope to try and accomplish this year:

1.  I lost  50+ lbs. and have managed to maintain it for quite a few months (these months included moving, my parents visiting, a trip to Vegas, Thanksgiving, Christmas, and New Years). 

2.  I gave up soda completely.  I had tried it before, just with diet, but was allowing myself a once in awhile treat, and that was bad.  I can now say the only soda I have had was root beer in a root beer float and the occasional splash in a mixed drink, that’s it.  Don’t get me wrong, there are bad days where a Diet Coke is screaming my name, but I did it. 

3.  I’ve turned into a neat and orderly person.  My inner OCD has come out and I’m embracing it. 

I hope to continue with those things, and at the end of 2012, I decided to try accustoming myself to hugs and enjoying them.  I’ve been on a mission to make it happen and not cringe/flinch/make faces/half hug etc. and so far, I’m doing a good job.  I’m proud of that accomplishment.  It might seem small and peculiar, but it is something that I’ve struggled with. 

Sometimes things need to be about yourself.  It isn’t selfish, it isn’t wrong, if you aren’t happy, how can you make anyone else happy or be happy for anyone else? 

Leave a Reply

