Seven for Sunday

My titles are really lame, I strongly apologize for that.  Moving on to day 7 of Jamie Galloway’s “Jump Start Your January.”  I’m really not feeling this series I created for myself anymore, but I want to finish it, so we will continue. 

“Fail to Plan, Plan to Fail”

I think we all know how true this is.  If you don’t bring your umbrella with you, keep it your car, have a spare you might end up getting caught in a downpour.  If you don’t bring your two snacks to work you might eat anything anyone will give you (3 cupcakes?  a bag of popcorn?  35 Swedish fish?). 

I completely abide by this mantra, as you might call it.  I’m a planner.  I’m a little bit OCD (sometimes, other times I don’t care, but the OCD part makes me eventually care at the end) and I like to plan.  Do I always follow my plan, no, definitely not.  The planning stage though definitely calms and relaxes me a bit.  It really helps me feel better and that I might just get what I want accomplished.  I make lists that I rarely follow and forget lots of things on them, that’s just me.  But when I don’t make the list, I get a little bit stressed and wish I had. 

However, I wouldn’t say you’re always going to fail if you don’t plan.  You might be more inclined to fail if you’re not planning, but, that doesn’t mean the change of what would happen won’t turn out well.  I mean, what if I only planned to go to one grocery store each week (I go to at least 2-3) and missed out on a completely new find because I didn’t deviate from my plan?  Bad example?  Okay, what about the chance that you go to the play/movie/restaurant/concert/book store by yourself and meet your new significant other or best friend?  You didn’t plan that but it might be the best decision you’ve ever made. 

I think planning is so important, and can help ease some of the stressors in our lives, but at the end of the day, the lack of a plan won’t make your world come crashing down around you. 

My plan for this year:

1.  Live every single day as if it is my last and to the fullest.
B.  Be happy, smile more, hug more, laugh more. 
III.  Spend time making new friends and building relationships. 
d.  Get to know me again and who I am.  What makes me “me” and understand and accept myself completely. 
5.  Go to an amazing concert because I haven’t been to one in a long time and really want to see someone perform. 

I hope you have a great plan for your 2013, but remember, it is okay to deviate from it. 

Leave a Reply

