You are not a dog

Hopefully a witty title comes to me before I post this as #9.  This might be my favorite of these 10 things for jump starting my January. 

“Reward Yourself”

I have a love-hate relationship with that phrase.  As many of my fellow pinners might have seen or known, there is an image, that says something along the lines of, “do not reward yourself with a treat, you are not a dog.”  As much as I might agree with the statement, if you don’t reward yourself for doing something, what incentive will you have to continue it?  It doesn’t have to be a treat, or something new, but I’ve rewarded myself ten times over by being able to wear a size 4.  To fit comfortably in an airline seat and have people sit next to me comfortably. 

I think that you should reward yourself sometimes.  Maybe not too much, or you might take it for granted, but sometimes you should.  A reward doesn’t have to be a few drinks with the girls, mom’s spaghetti and meatballs, or some Ben and Jerry’s Cherry Garcia, but it could be.  It could also be a massage, new shoes, or treating yourself to a movie. 

In other news, my knee is not healing, it falsely made me think it was okay because there was NO PAIN all weekend.  However, today it made up for that ten-fold.  Anyway, bandaging up my knee for the week until I go to the doctor. And hopefully I don’t die, because this not being able to run is absolutely killing me.  You seriously have no idea.  

My weekend involved lots of R&R with the fella, and we saw Django Unchained.  It was really, really good.  You should see it, but be prepared if blood makes you squeamish.  And its long, but totally worth seeing. 

Leave a Reply

