Quotable Quote

My favorite quote and why:

“In the end, it’s not the years in your life that count.  It’s the life in your years.” – Abe Lincoln

I don’t know about you, but I don’t know if I really want to live to be 100, just because.  Granted, it would be awesome to see so much of our world change, but what if I didn’t have anything to show for it?  Your life should count for something.  At least that’s my opinion.  You don’t have to be Mother Theresa or Gandhi, but you should know that the life you led was the best it can be.  I don’t think that necessarily means that a 100-year-old is any better than a 40-year-old.  Perhaps that 40-year-old spent most of their life donating blood, spending time with orphans, and traveling the world trying to make clean drinking water for poor countries.  And the 100-year-old went to work, came home, and watched TV.  Who’s life counted more?  In my opinion, the 40-year-olds. 

Also, in another way, don’t you want to remember your life as lived, not just as passing years?  I want to remember the spontaneous trip that I took with friends (where I can’t recall my age or the date) rather than the fact that in my 24th year of life I didn’t really do anything.  Your life should have meaning and it should count.  It shouldn’t be about just being able to say, I made it to 95, I’m done.  It should be about, I’m 60 and I have done all these things that I am happy and content with. 

I think we should all try and make our life the best that it can be, whether we are given 26 years, or 86 years. 

BlogEverday (1)

Leave a Reply

