She Works Hard for the Money

I don’t generally talk about my job here very much, mostly because I probably shouldn’t, and also because it isn’t the most exciting or exactly where I would like to be at this stage in my life.  I can tell you I am a Legal Secretary, which, I know sounds all kinds of exciting.  I was recently promoted, so I am still in a long and slow learning process.  I don’t take to learning slowly, so it has been quite the adjustment for me.  However, I’m hopeful that things will pick up and that I will learn to enjoy this position.  If it does come that I don’t enjoy it, I do have some small back up plans and other options.

image (4)
(I try, most days to dress like a grown up with the promotion)

I’d say that you can make a pretty decent assumption on what my job actually entails.  I type a lot, send out a lot of mail, and generally assist legal professionals in their day to day tasks.  It is not the most glamorous job and I spend a large portion of my day sitting at a desk.  I like having a stable job, with good benefits, but sometimes I question whether these positive aspects will ever outweigh the negative aspects.  I’m stuck in a room with no windows, which sometimes feels more suffocating than you will ever know.  If I don’t get outside on all my breaks and my lunch, I feel trapped.  If you’ve never worked in a room with no windows (and the only time you ever see out a window is if someone on the outside has their open) you would not even realize how much the lack of natural light can affect your mood.  I also don’t feel as challenged as my constantly working mind would like.  I suppose that since I am still in training and learning that it might become more challenging.  I’m looking forward to that day.

image (5)
(And I’m still trying to figure out this whole tucking my shirt in thing)

I don’t see myself doing this job forever.  In fact, I don’t think I ever saw myself having this position.  The promotion came at a good time and although I can’t say it is what I’ve always wanted, it has the potential to be much better than what I was doing.

I do want to tell you that if I could do anything in the whole world, it would be something where I can make a difference in the lives of others.  At this point I’m still thinking that being a teacher would be my best option, but there are some caveats with that as well, that closely relate to my current woes and worries.  It’s hard to be a teacher in California and to keep your job when you’re new.  Also, the pay is not really much better than what I have now.  With that being said, I don’t believe that money buys happiness and that if I was in a field I enjoyed MAYBE I wouldn’t care so much about the pay.  I’ve been toying with how to go back and get my teaching credential (that’s all I need to become a teacher) and what would best suit my needs.  Right now it just isn’t plausible but hopefully, one day it is.

I hope you all enjoy what you do, and if you don’t enjoy it, I hope that it doesn’t create a nasty atmosphere where you cannot thrive

One thought on “She Works Hard for the Money

Leave a Reply

