Floating in this cosmic Jacuzzi

I was going to tell you to love, be nice, treat people as you want to be treated, etc.  However, I realized that sometimes the advice you need the most, is the advice you give to others.

Not to sound like a Nike commercial, although maybe I’ll find a good video for the end of my post, my advice is:  Just do it.

Seriously, whatever it is that you want, think you want, or need to do; just do it.  Step outside your comfort zone.  Work hard, fail and rebuild yourself from the bottom.  I’m not always the best example of this, but I want it to be my new mantra.  So often in life we are afraid to do something.  Whether it is telling someone the honest truth, wearing those hot pink skinny jeans without fear of them making your butt look big, or jumping on that airplane for that 20 hour plane ride to take a 2 month backpacking tour.  Just do it.  What’s the worst that could happen?  Okay, so next to death, you live and you learn.  You’ll know next time that the person couldn’t handle your truth, or that hot pink skinnies aren’t for you, or that you aren’t cut out for 2 months of backpacking.  But imagine, just imagine what you could learn about yourself.  That person feels the same way you do.  You’re really a fashionista at heart, or you learn exactly who you are on a soul searching trip.

I need to follow my own advice.  Just ask, and you shall receive.  Tell someone and you will know.  Get your teaching credential, go on a long plane ride somewhere far away, and most of all live everyday with that attitude.

This song popped into my head, and it is so fitting for my advice.  Not to mention they are one of my all time favorite bands (in the bands who were popular from 2000 and on):

Bat your eyes girl, be outerworldly
Count your blessings, seduce a stranger
What’s so wrong with being happy?
Kudos to those who see through sickness

When she woke in the morning
She knew that her life had passed her by
And she called out a warning:
“Don’t ever let life pass you by.”

I suggest we, learn to love ourselves before its made illegal
When will we learn, when will we change?
Just in time to see it all fall down
Those left standing… will make millions…
Writing books on the way it should have been

Just do it.  You know you want to.

Leave a Reply

